X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Noob in Need of Assistance

Hello, my name is Dora and I'm 23 years old. For most of my life I've always had my hair in braids though I did have dread locks in middle and high school. Unfortunately I didn't know how to take care of my hair so I had to hack it all off because I was experiencing a lot of breakage. I've grown out my hair for a couple of years with the hope of getting locks again but to be honest I have zero knowledge on how to take care of my hair. The only good thing in all of this is that I stayed away from relaxers and heat however I know my hair is very damaged from lack of care not to mention the fact that I've never even had a trim before. I'm in the process of taking down my braids right now so I want to use this as an opportunity to properly take care of my hair in it's natural state. Any guidance would be greatly appreciated! I am a true noob (don't even know the meaning of all these acronyms I keep seeing in blogs) who hasn't even begun her hair journey yet. Luckily there is a lot of information here though I don't even know were to begin. My hair is type 4B and really really dry (not sure if it's naturally dry or due to lack of care). Thanks in advance for the help, I really hope to begin this wonderful journey to natural and healthy hair

The quick simple version......
    1. Cleanse
    2. Deep Condition or Protein Treatment
    3. Leave-in/moisturizer
    4. Seal and protect your ends and edges

These are the basic steps. For product ideas check out the curly product section. Do a search for "regimen" and take a look at the regimens of other curlies to get ideas of what you want to do. But most importantly, listen to you hair and do what it needs. If it feels dry it's time to moisturize. If it feels dirty, it time to clean. If it feels brittle it's time for a protein treatment. And a good trim will do you some good as needed.

Hope this helps.