X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Future Bride Needs Hair Support

Hello my beautiful curlies. This is my first time submitting a question in the forum and I need help. I have been transitioning since August 2010 and will be getting married October 2011. Unfortunately my dear fiance and mother do not approve of my decision to go natural. My mother has this idea of, "Why would you chose to do that now?" And my fiance thinks, "Are you going to be able to pull that off at the wedding? Is your hair going to look nappy?" And they both ask me am I sure I don't just want to get a perm for that day. It's heartbreaking to know that the two people I count on the most who support me in everything else, are not supporting me on this. I've pretty much told the both of them that I no longer want to hear their negativity towards a decision I've made that doesn't affect them and that I will not be getting a perm. Since then then they've stopped commenting about how they think this is a bad idea. Does anyone have suggestions for hair styles I can wear that day? I'm desperate! My hair isn't very long. I've been growing it out from a pixie cut. The help you give will be greatly appreciated. It will ease my mind and make me less stressed as I prepare for this wedding.

first off, congratulations! sorry your hair has become the center of what's supposed to be a really exciting time for you

Curly Nikki highlights natural brides every now and then, and they've had some great styles. here's link to all the past articles: Curly Nikki | Natural Hair Styles and Curly Hair Care: Wedding Hair

Do you want to wear it longer? Maybe you could get a natural-looking weave for that day.