X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Any Writers Out There?

I have always been quite the artsy type, and like to deem myself a Jack of All Trades. I draw, I paint, I art journal, and I want to learn how to do other things, like make beads and charms, make jewelry, watercolor (I work mostly with acrylics). I love creating. My number one pastime and passion, however, is writing. I've been writing since the fourth grade, I absolutely love it, and I can't get enough of it!

Going on this natural hair journey inspired two stories that I have yet to write, both dedicated to my natural hair and the natural hair movement. Both, I guess, would be in the African American or Black genre, a genre I've never written in before, and both really spawned from a piece of my inner self, I think.

Other than those two projects, I write mostly Magic Realism, High Fantasy, and Sci-Fi. I also love to cross genres. Urban Fantasy was my thing for a while when I was in high school, but I fell out of love with that along with the vampire scene, so . . . I'm more of a Lord of the Rings, Firefly, Chocolat kind of writer.

I used to have knack for poetry, mostly because I deemed myself a song writer back in the day, but somehow I started hating poetry. Probably due to English class where we dissected verses and lines to try to find the meaning within. I HATED that so much, and it made me hate poetry. And also because I just don't get it, but I have found myself writing a few poems here, just not as much as I used to. I write novels and short stories when I'm not wasting time online.

If there are any writers out there, what kind of writing are you into? Poems, novels, short stories, flash fiction? And what genres do you write in? What books inspire you?