X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Military and Natural Hair

Hi guys, first let me introduce myself. I am 19 y/o. I graduated in 2010 and went on to college in Wisconsin. After my first year I moved to NC where my natural hair journey began. My last relaxer was June 2011. I BC'd December 24, 2011 and I'm loving it (not so much at first!). But, I have officially been sworn into the Air Force and I leave May 15. I'm so excited to see where this takes me. So I was wondering if all you natural ladies who are in, have been in, or even know someone who is in the military to share your natural hair experiences. I'd love to know how basic training was. Anything would be nice to know! Thanks for reading, I know it was a bit long :P oh here's a quick pic of my hair BTW

I'm in the Air Force. I've been in for 7 1/2 yrs now. I just started transitioning in 2011. But when I was in basic I wore my hair braided. I didn't really know how to do my hair when I was that age (17/18). So looking back that was the best option for me to keep me from looking a HAM lol.

You probably won't have a lot of time for too many braid outs/twist outs so you may want to perfect the wash and go. Bring enough products, hair bands and elastic headbands but don't bring TOO much stuff because you may not have a lot of space to store it.

Good luck with your career and have a good time at basic!

Comment

Haha thanks for replying and yes I may struggle tryin to pick only a few products with me. And my wngs have gotten a bit quicker.
      But wow you have been in for awhile. What is your job? And how many years did you enlist for?
      My job title is engineering apprentice and I'm only initially doing 4 years . I'm excited and nervous for this.....ESPECIALLY basic training
      X-/

Comment

I'm in the national guard and when ever I have drill I throw on a wig.

Sent from my MB865 using CurlyNikki App
        BC 2/10/12

Comment